Installing ASIO in Audacity

RE: Audacity 2.1.3, downloaded “exe”, Using Win 7

Ref: http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/ASIO_Audio_Interface

1. Do I download IDE 2015 or 2017, please?

2. Is the “Default” IDE install sufficient or what additional “Custom” mods must I include, please?

Thank you ! :confused:

You have a couple of odd things in your post. You don’t install ASIO in Audacity. You create a whole new Audacity by compiling with ASIO services.

DennisTheNewbee

Have you ever compiled a program?

You could be an old hand with years compiling computer programs and just an Audacity newbee.

Koz

Thank you for your reply, Koz.

Yes, I do understand Audacity must actually be recompiled. I’ve been a programmer/analyst in the business field (MIS) for 30+ years (now retired). BUT I’m well aware there’s always a LOT to learn when beginning “a new project”.

Oh, and I posted to the wrong area too, I think?

Any detailed guidance will be sincerely, sincerely appreciated.

Best Regards,
Denny

No problem, at least we know that you are on Windows.
I’ve moved this topic to the “Compiling Audacity” board.

I would recommend that you first build a vanilla Release version of Audacity 2.1.3.
You will need the full Audacity source code, which is available here: Releases · audacity/audacity · GitHub
Then see the instructions here: Missing features - Audacity Support
See also the README.txt file in the source root for any details that may have changed since the wiki was last updated (I don’t use Windows so I’m not sure if there are differences).

Hopefully you will then have a fully working release version of Audacity 2.1.3

When you got that working successfully, you will need to download the ASIO SDK from Steinberg (requires agreeing to terms & conditions), and see the instructions here: Missing features - Audacity Support

THANK YOU !!