Compiling with ASIO

Hi all

I am compiling Audacity with ASIO support. Spent a few days on this right now, and while I get Audacity compiled successfully, it bombs out on launch - no error, no splashscreen, just exits. To be fair, I am not an expert Windows developer, but everything seems to be correct.

Does anyone have any advice, or a link to a compiled version that I can use - this is for a community project and I have no intention of distributing. It’s driving me NUTS! :imp:

We will need a lot more information on your compile process if you want help there. As for a link to a compiled version we may not help you out on that due to copyright-type restrictions. I am almost certain we can get you up and running with your own compiled version.

What OS and compiler are you using? Are you certain that you have compiled the appropriate wxWidgets libraries and that they are in the same folder as your Audacity.exe? How did you obtain your Audacity source code and, if you are getting it via SVN, what revision did you grab?

Thanks for the reply Edgar

I am compiling on Windows 7 64 bit, with MS Visual Studio 2013

I have built WXWidgets 2.8.12, and put the .DLLs in the same directory as Audacity

I used SVN to get Audacity 2.0.6

Just rebuilt everything and it bombs out - I guess I need to do a debug build?

Phil

Make sure that you build wxWidgets with MS VS 2013 - you must build the libraries and the executable with the same compiler. 2.0.6 is revision 13340 - make sure you check out that revision. There should be no advantage in a debug build as there is obviously something wrong in your environment. Make sure you are not trying to use the experimental wxWidgets wx3 configurations for Audacity.