Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Building and customizing Audacity from the source code.

Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by xxjack12xx » Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:51 am

I'm trying to compile 1.3.4 on FreeBSD 7.0 amd64 but I keep getting this configure error. It compiled fine on 1.3.3 but now it says portaudio doesn't include required functions. Any idea on how to fix this issue? configure output is below.

=== configuring in lib-src/portmixer (/usr/ports/audio/audacity-devel/work/audacity-src-1.3.4-beta/lib-src/portmixer)
configure: running /bin/sh ./configure '--prefix=/usr/local' '--with-portaudio=v19' '--with-libmad=system' '--with-vorbis=system' '--with-id3tag=system' '--x-libraries=/usr/local/lib' '--x-includes=/usr/local/include' '--mandir=/usr/local/man' '--infodir=/usr/local/info/' 'amd64-portbld-freebsd7.0' 'build_alias=amd64-portbld-freebsd7.0' 'host_alias=amd64-portbld-freebsd7.0' 'target_alias=amd64-portbld-freebsd7.0' 'CC=cc' 'CFLAGS=-O2 -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe -march=opteron -I/usr/local/include ' 'LDFLAGS= -L/usr/local/lib -pthread' 'CPPFLAGS= -I/usr/local/include ' 'CXX=c++' 'CXXFLAGS=-O2 -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe -march=opteron' '--with-wx-config=/usr/local/bin/wxgtk2-2.8-config' '--with-pa-include=../portaudio-v19/include' --cache-file=/dev/null --srcdir=.
configure: WARNING: you should use --build, --host, --target
checking for amd64-portbld-freebsd7.0-gcc... cc
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of executables...
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether cc accepts -g... yes
checking for cc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking for amd64-portbld-freebsd7.0-ranlib... no
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for ar... /usr/bin/ar
checking how to run the C preprocessor... cc -E
checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /usr/bin/grep
checking for egrep... /usr/bin/grep -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking whether to compile debug version... no
configure: WARNING: "Missing support in portaudio.h"
configure: error: "Your version of portaudio does not include required functions"
configure: error: ./configure failed for lib-src/portmixer
===> Script "configure" failed unexpectedly.
Need some punk rock? - http://www.punkrockdemo.com
xxjack12xx
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:48 am

Re: Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by backdoc » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:21 pm

I'm getting similar errors. But, I'm trying to compile using Kdevelop. If I compile from the command line, I don't get those errors.

My output:
checking whether to compile debug version... yes
configure: WARNING: "Missing support in pa_win_ds.h"
configure: WARNING: "Missing support in pa_linux_alsa.h"
configure: WARNING: "Missing support in pa_win_wmme.h"
configure: WARNING: "Missing support in pa_mac_core.h"
configure: WARNING: "Missing support in pa_unix_oss.h"
configure: WARNING: "Missing support in portaudio.h"
configure: error: "Your version of portaudio does not include required functions"
configure: error: /mnt/LINUX_DOCS/goofing_with/goofing_with_kdevelopo/audacity/lib-src/portmixer/configure failed for lib-src/portmixer
*** Exited with status: 1 ***
backdoc
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:54 am

Re: Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by backdoc » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:35 pm

I got it to work (configure). I added the --without-portmixer option.

--enable-debug=yes --prefix=/home/backdoc --without-portmixer --with-portaudio=v19 --with-wxwidgets=gtk2-ansi-release-2.8 --program-prefix=_beta
backdoc
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:54 am

Re: Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by xxjack12xx » Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:40 am

If I compile without portmixer, it works, but the input sound device is not recognized.
Need some punk rock? - http://www.punkrockdemo.com
xxjack12xx
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:48 am

Re: Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by richardash1981 » Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:08 pm

Are you using the current CVS / tarball of 1.3.4? This normally shows up if you remove the portaudio-v19 directory from the tarball and replace it with one from the portaudio website, because they don't include the patch that is needed in portaudio in order for portmixer (which provides audio device control) to work.

If it works on the command line (where it was written and tested) but not in kdevelop, it sounds like a kdevelop problem not an audacity one.
richardash1981
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:57 pm
Location: Merseyside, UK

Re: Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by backdoc » Wed Nov 21, 2007 12:54 am

richardash1981 wrote:Are you using the current CVS / tarball of 1.3.4? This normally shows up if you remove the portaudio-v19 directory from the tarball and replace it with one from the portaudio website, because they don't include the patch that is needed in portaudio in order for portmixer (which provides audio device control) to work.


I'm not sure if this question was directed toward me or not. I did not replace the portaudio-v19 directory. But, I am trying to use Kdevelop.

richardash1981 wrote:If it works on the command line (where it was written and tested) but not in kdevelop, it sounds like a kdevelop problem not an audacity one.


I haven't posted the problems that I am having with Kdevelop/Audacity. To me, either my problems look like an issue with Kdevelop or just the simple fact that I don't know Kdevelop. I know that I have no problem compiling Audacity on the command line.

I am going to start a new thread for my issues because I think the problems are distinct. I am also chronicling my issues in the form of a HOWTO on my website: http://www.crotchett.com/kdevelop
backdoc
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:54 am

Re: Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by xxjack12xx » Wed Nov 21, 2007 3:40 am

I downloaded the tarball off of the website and tried to compile it and got the portaudio configure error.
Need some punk rock? - http://www.punkrockdemo.com
xxjack12xx
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:48 am

Re: Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:06 am

A really old thread here, but I've just run up against this issue. The solution for me was to configure with the option
Code: Select all
--with-portmixer="local"
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34849
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Portaudio issue in 1.3.4

Permanent link to this post Posted by Zhek » Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:05 pm

steve wrote:A really old thread here, but I've just run up against this issue. The solution for me was to configure with the option
Code: Select all
--with-portmixer="local"

Thank you very much. You saved my day. :D
Zhek
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:04 pm


Return to Compiling Audacity



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests