Compiling Audacity with Asio

Is there a simple step by step procedure in plain English to enable Audacity to work with Asio?

One that doesn’t need in depth knowledge of programming - I’ve tried following the existing instructions - a bit daunting !!!

Help please, Colin

I think the instructions are about as “simple” as they can be. I think that Microsoft expect there customers to buy ready made meals and not to cook for themselves. Have you though of trying Linux? Any particular reason why you want/need ASIO support?

“SIMPLE?” This is the the preliminary info about the Audacity source code!!!
Complete gobbledygook to me - it assumes so much prior knowledge which I don’t have.
I’m a musician - not a programmer!

Audacity 1.3.9 release (source tarball) (.tar.bz2 file, 6.4 MB) This is our standard source tarball. It assumes your system has the necessary dependencies (libraries) installed (see below).

Optional Downloads

Audacity 1.3.9 release (source tarball) (.tar.bz2 file, 17.4 MB) This is a full source tarball, useful for Windows and Mac machines which may lack the necessary dependencies to compile Audacity.

Latest CVS development code, incorporating changes since the release tarball.

If you have trouble with your download, or need an older version of Audacity, try our alternate download links:
o Sourceforge (older versions can be viewed by clicking on the appropriate package)
o Google Code (click on the headings to sort the list)

System Requirements

• Audacity runs best with at least 64 MB RAM and a 300 MHz processor. Please review our operating system support for Windows, Mac or Linux.

How to Compile Audacity
Dependencies

The wxWidgets library is required. Audacity 1.3.9 requires wxGTK 2.8.10.

Installation of the following libraries is optional - they are included in Audacity obtained from CVS.

• libmad
  • libsndfile
  • Ogg Vorbis