Error while opening sound device

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.3.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.1.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by Paggie » Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:59 pm

I have downloaded 1.3 Beta version (unicol) I have Windows 7. I have an error while opening sound device. It tells me to check the input device settings and the project sample rate. Does anyone know how to do this please?
Paggie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:45 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:22 pm

What are you recording? Details are good. "I'm trying to record my Logitech USB microphone."
Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 39141
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by waxcylinder » Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:42 pm

Try this draft article I have been working on for the manual: http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/User ... und_device

WC
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *
waxcylinder
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 9184
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by Paggie » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:24 pm

Thank you for replying and trying to help me.
Paggie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:45 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by Paggie » Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:24 pm

Thanks to your article, I'm beginning to get somewhere, but I still have a problem.
I went into devices: recording and it said I had no device. So I went into control panel and it said I had no microphone. Do I need a microphone even if I'm recording music which is on the computer?
Paggie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:45 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:27 pm

If you are recording music that is playing on your computer, you need the "Stereo Mix" option enabled in the Control Panel. Generally it is best to also set "Stereo Mix" as the default recording device.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45948
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by PGA » Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:19 pm

Paggie wrote:...recording music which is on the computer...

If you already have the sound file stored on one of your computer's storage devices, you do not need to record it in Audacity. All you need to do is File...Import... that sound file into Audacity.
PGA
 
Posts: 693
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:16 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by Paggie » Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:29 pm

Thanks again for your help. when you say Stereo Mix option in the Control Panel, do you mean the Control panel in Windows? I don't see that option at all. I have windows 7. I also notice that I don't have the Stereo Mix on Audacity like I did in Audacity 1.2.4 on Windows XP, could this be the problem please?
Thank you Paggie
Paggie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:45 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by PGA » Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:35 pm

See this information in the wiki; "Using Windows Control Panel" section
http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Mixer ... trol_Panel
PGA
 
Posts: 693
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:16 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Error while opening sound device

Permanent link to this post Posted by Paggie » Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:12 pm

Thank you so much, problem solved at last. When I clicked the Recording Tab in Windows and chose Show Disabled Devices, the Stereo Mix came up and I was able to Enable it and set it as my Default Device. Audacity now has it selected and at last I can record. Thank you, Paggie
Paggie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:45 pm
Operating System: Please select

Next

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests