Raising volume of a certain instrument while lowing others

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.3.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

Raising volume of a certain instrument while lowing others

Permanent link to this post Posted by Huehuehue » Fri Aug 26, 2011 9:26 pm

Hai there,
I'm pretty new to the the forums and would like to say sorry if I'm in the wrong place, but basicly in Audacity how would you raise for volume of a certain instrument so you can say hear it much better then other instruments, but here's the catch, you know in some songs you have two guitars lets say lead1 and lead2, playing around the same frequency but want to separate the two guitars into seperate tracks while raising that certain guitar but lowing the other. I know it's possible.

E.G.

Lead 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79Yb0z-yMbM
Lead 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wamHkj_r ... re=related

Any help is appreciated.
Huehuehue

Re: Raising volume of a certain instrument while lowing othe

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Fri Aug 26, 2011 11:56 pm

It's certainly possible if you start with a multi-track project -- each instrument on its own track. Then you can change the balance and placement of each instrument as you want. Then export a new mixed show with the changes in it.

You can't separate instruments once you make a mix.

There is one tool called Vocal Removal that can, in some cases, remove the lead singer from an orchestral mix, but that's it, and it fails on more songs than it succeeds.

There is one more way to do this. If you have a MIDI mix, you can export that into a music track and make a new track with a different mix any time by changing the MIDI construction.

I know it's possible.

How do you know that?

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Fri Aug 26, 2011 11:57 pm