How can I use my USB headset to record?

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.3.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

How can I use my USB headset to record?

Permanent link to this post Posted by sentinel1945 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:44 pm

How can I use my USB headset to record? I have tried to find out how to do this.

I am a beginner. I have been trying to get started with Audacity for some time.
I recently purchased the new e-book on Podcasting with Audacity.

I saw this post in the forum:
New headset / mic issues by da_qtip on Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:25 am
And noted the reply by stevethefiddle on Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:56 pm
Click on the menu "Edit->Preferences->Audio I/O" and make sure that your USB device is selected for both recording and playback device.

I opened Audacity ® 1.3.4-beta (Unicode)
I was able to play a file I had previously recorded in Audacity in January, 2007 during an earlier effort to get started. Something has changed on my system since then. I still have Audacity 1.2.6 but it no longer lists the C-Media USB Sound Device as a recording device option and neither does Skype. It played through my desktop speakers. I changed the playback device to my USB device and it played through my headset.

I tried to record a new file, but the line on the display stayed flat. It looks like I should be able to choose C-Media USB Sound Device for my recording device, but it is not on the list.

Edit/Preferences/Audio I/O shows:
Playback device choices are:
MME: C-Media USB Sound Device (currently selected)
MME: Microsoft Sound Mapper - Output
MME: SigmaTel Audio (This is my sound card.)
MME: Modem #4Line Playback

Recording device choices are: (I tried all three.)
MME: Microsoft Sound Mapper - Input (currently selected)
MME: SigmaTel Audio (This is my sound card.)
MME: Modem #4Line Playback

Edit/Preferences/ Quality shows:
Default Sample Rate 44100 HZ