Recording too loud or too soft

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.3.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

Recording too loud or too soft

Permanent link to this post Posted by byteratt » Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:37 pm

I hope someone can help with this. I'm new to Audacity but I've read the FAQs and instructions and can't find my particular problem. I want to record vinyl LPs and cassettes, but when I monitor the input from my phono player, it's way too loud even when I have the input setting all the way down (both in Audacity and in my audio software), and when I monitor the input from my cassette player, it's way too soft even when the monitor is all the way to max. Both phono and tape deck are connected to the same receiver, and the input is the line-in on the computer (I have input as line-in in Audacity as well). I'm using WinXP and my audio is the Sigmatel on-board audio card. Anybody know what might be wrong? I've gone through the Audacity controls and can't find a solution.
byteratt

Re: Recording too loud or too soft

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:15 pm

Check that you are using a "Line In" socket and not a "Mic In" socket on your sound card.
Also check in the Sigmatel software - there may be an option for "+20dB" (may be called "boost" or "mic boost"). This needs to be off.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff

Permanent link to this post Posted by byteratt » Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:35 am

I double-checked and it is the line-in that I'm using, and there was a +20 boost setting but it's off.
byteratt

Permanent link to this post Posted by whomper » Mon Mar 22, 2010 2:03 pm

byteratt wrote:I ...Both phono and tape deck are connected to the same receiver, a...I've gone through the Audacity controls and can't find a solution.