Speed of playback

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.3.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

Speed of playback

Permanent link to this post Posted by katchociej » Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:35 pm

I am new to using Audacity, and I'm sure there is a simple fix to my problem. When I playback my recordings, the speed of the recording sounds as if it is 3-4 times the speed of what I actually recorded. How do I change the settings so that the playback matches up with the speed of my voice when I am recording. Thanks in advance!
katchociej

Re: Speed of playback

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:17 pm

The reason nobody is racing to your rescue is that the problem can't be happening -- based on your description.

Get Graphic. Exactly what is your microphone, how is it connected and to what kind of computer? Model numbers, manufacturers. Everything is good.

http://www.kozco.com/tech/piano2.wav

Save that and play it in a fresh Audacity. Does it take six seconds to get from beginning to end?

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff

Permanent link to this post Posted by SAJ » Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:57 pm

Any chance you're pressing Play-at-speed (the green arrow next to the slider) instead of Play (the big button on the control toolbar)? Is the speed slider all the way to the right, i.e. 3 x normal speed?
SAJ

Permanent link to this post Posted by gclyde » Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:38 am