How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

This section is now closed.

This forum is now closed.

For help with current Audacity, please post to the 2.x board for your operating system.

Please post feedback about the current 2.x version on the 2.x feedback board.

How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Son of Spam » Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:40 pm

I've managed to configure my regular Audacity to record streaming audio (I did it months ago, so I don't remember the exact steps I took).

I tried to configure 1.3 in the same way, but whenever I press record and play a streaming audio file, all I get is a straight wave line indicating that it's not receiving any audio.

What am I doing wrong? :o
Son of Spam
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:12 am

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by richardash1981 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:56 pm

Not selecting the right input to record from?:
See the FAQ:
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/help/fa ... =streaming
richardash1981
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:57 pm
Location: Merseyside, UK

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Son of Spam » Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:46 am

Thanks richard.

But I've followed all the instructions and nothing seems to work.

The recording view shows that no sound is being input. I've configured the settings as per the Audacity wiki.
Son of Spam
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:12 am

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by richardash1981 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 3:37 pm

What inputs do you have listed to record from? Which one have you got selected? Can you hear the file your are playing back OK?
richardash1981
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:57 pm
Location: Merseyside, UK

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by davidchicago » Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:28 pm

I'm having this same problem. :(

The only choices I have are Microphone, Rear Mic, Line In - how do I restore/resinstall whatever I need to get "wave out" or stero mix" as a choice?

Thanks in advance.

Dell Dmiension 9150 - Sigmatel Driver - anyoen have a link to the update?
davidchicago
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:25 pm

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:37 pm

davidchicago wrote:The only choices I have are Microphone, Rear Mic, Line In - how do I restore/resinstall whatever I need to get "wave out" or stero mix" as a choice?

Have you ever had "Stereo Mix" as an option?
(Some sound cards just do not have that option).

Is this a laptop, or a full size computer? Win XP? Vista? Mac OSX? Linux?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34845
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by mcgahon » Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:06 pm

I eventually found out how to recording streaming audio etc direct from the soundcard using a Vista System.

Control panel > Sound > Recording > Right click on white part of window and click "show disabled devices". Select "stereo mix" click OK and start recording on Audacity.

On most new Vista machines, the built-in microphone is the only device enabled.
mcgahon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:54 am

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by longboss01 » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:19 am

Hi everyone

i am having the same problem, i even updated to the latest version of audacity! i have a laptop running vista.

(in audacity i cannot change the drop down box in the mixer window...all it says is master volume)

i have however followed the wiki and the help given on this thread.
I can get the 'stereo mix' to appear in the recording section of the preferences menu but now i have lost all sound!

it does appear to record the audio, but the waveform is tiny and of a poor quality.....and i cant hear it!!!

what should i do next??

any help would be great!!
longboss01
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:09 am

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:23 am

Step 1

Control panel > Sound > Recording > Right click on white part of window and click "show disabled devices".

Is "Stereo Mix" listed?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34845
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: How To Record Streaming Audio In 1.3?

Permanent link to this post Posted by longboss01 » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:41 am

Hi steve

Yeh i have already done this and selected it! (initally it was hiden)
i then clicked on it and went into the 'levels' screen and incresed this (to try and get a better signal on the waveform in audacity)

still no luck! :(
longboss01
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:09 am

Next

Return to General Feedback and Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests