Latency Issues

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x package for your distribution or compile Audacity from the source code.

Latency Issues

Permanent link to this post Posted by Silky64 » Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:58 pm

I am using Ubuntu 9.04 and here is my issue. I will record the first track, go back to the begining to record the second track and i get this message.Latency Correction setting has caused the recorded audio to be hidden before zero.
Audacity has brought it back to start at zero.
You may have to use the Time Shift Tool (<---> or F5) to drag the track to the right place.
I mess with all the tools with no positive results...It will not let me record a second track and that message pops up every time... I am a newbie to audacity so any help would be great...Thanks...
Silky64

Re: Latency Issues

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:48 pm

I bet you're not using Audacity 1.2.x
What version are you using?

Do you have a standard Ubuntu install of have you modified the sound system in any way?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff

Permanent link to this post Posted by jademan » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:39 pm

Silky64 wrote:I am using Ubuntu 9.04 and here is my issue. I will record the first track, go back to the begining to record the second track and i get this message.Latency Correction setting has caused the recorded audio to be hidden before zero.
You may have to use the Time Shift Tool (<---> or F5) to drag the track to the right place.

Silky64,

In this new page from the 2.0 manual, Latency Test, there is a discussion at the very end "All audio behind zero warning".

I hope this helps.
jademan

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:13 am