How to convert .mov sound recording from call recorder

This section is now closed

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

Mac 0S X 10.3 and earlier are no longer supported but you can download legacy versions of Audacity for those systems HERE.

How to convert .mov sound recording from call recorder

Permanent link to this post Posted by angelbws » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:19 pm

Hi Guys

I'm really new to doing podcasts and editing sound, I recorded an interview from SKype using call recorder and now I want to edit it
before publishing. But I can't import it as it's an .mov file

format AAC, Stereo, 44.100 kHz
data size: 36.9 MB
data rate: 229.67 kbit/s

I have never used Audacity before so any help would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks in advance : )

A
angelbws

Re: How to convert .mov sound recording from call recorder

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:25 pm

Try upgrading to Audacity 1.3.12 and install FFmpeg.
Audacity: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/
FFMpeg: http://manual.audacityteam.org/index.ph ... tallffmpeg
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff

Permanent link to this post Posted by angelbws » Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:53 pm

Hey Steve

If this appears twice it's because I typed it all out and submitted it and then it disappeared. Not having a good day.

Thanks for the advice, I downloaded the other version and the sound did indeed import, however, there is still some confusion.

The sound has appeared as four boxes on top of each other, when I try to delete the first section of the recording it disappears but still
plays over the top of the new beginning?

There is a line which seems to down the whole page and so appears to be playing every box, I tried to highlight the top box so I can just work on that
box but this doesn't seem to work.