Feedback/distortion in audio: How to remove?

This section is now closed

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

Mac 0S X 10.3 and earlier are no longer supported but you can download legacy versions of Audacity for those systems HERE.

Feedback/distortion in audio: How to remove?

Permanent link to this post Posted by altofiddler » Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:45 am

I have audio files from a (private) concert that contain feedback. One of the performers with a wireless microphone moved too close to the speakers or to someone else's microphone. I would like to filter out the unpleasant part of the sound while keeping the correct note, but I do not know how to do this. I do know that feedback is a mix of tones and harmonics that sounds terrible to the human ear. How do I find and isolate offending frequencies? As an entirely self-taught audio editor, I have no idea how to use filters like Equalizer. Nor do I understand the charts that appear when I use Analyze. I would appreciate any advice anyone can give.
altofiddler

Re: Feedback/distortion in audio: How to remove?

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:17 am

The graphic equalizer isn't that hard to deal with. The blue line on the screen is a series of rubber bands and you can click and move the curves up and down and make new ones as needed Here's an illustration of a curve that makes voices a little more harmonious.

http://kozco.com/tech/audacity/voiceEq.jpg

You can tell where to put that dip by doing an analysis.

Put some feedback performance on the timeline. Select some of it.

Analyze > Plot Spectrum.