Recording is too fast for track

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

Recording is too fast for track

Permanent link to this post Posted by aean » Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:53 pm

First off, I really enjoy using Audacity. I've used to record several versions of songs for my band. All was going well until something peculiar began to happen. Whenever I recorded a vocal track over the music track, the vocals would record a couple of seconds too fast. I recorded in Windows Sound Recorder and everything seemed to be in order there. But for some reason, in Audacity, it just records fast, making the vocals off-key to the song. I tried to record my guitar today and the same thing. Too fast.

I'm not an expert at Audacity; I played around with preferences, and messed around with the project rate. Still too fast. I fidgeted with the time tool, and it could work if i put the time and effort into finding the right time slot, but by then I lose interest and go play a game or something. I'd really like to know why I suddenly can't record like a I used in Audacity. I love this programme and don't want to go investing in a store-bought one. I'm poor...sort of.

I'm using a Soundblaster Live! soundcard.
I run my mic through my guitar amp (it's worked plenty of times before to give me a harsh otherwordly voice) and into my soundcard.
My preferences are setup to use the Soundblaster card.

I just found something called a Real Time Sample Rate converter. It was set to FAst sinc interpolation. I'm going to change it to High quality sinc interpolation and see what happens.

Ok, it's definitely recording faster. I isolated the track and it sounds as if it's been speeded up.

Can anyone help me?