NO INPUT DEVICES?

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by mschuie » Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:46 am

ok guys, I have a problem. Every time i try to record (on vista 1.26), it tells me "error while opening sound device, check input device settings and the project sample rate".

Now, after a while i figured out where the sound devices were shown, but I dont have any. it wont let me use the drop menu to even choose one.
Not even in the preferences tab, its just blank.
any ideas as to how to fix this? its really annoying me.

Mark
mschuie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:40 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:57 pm

Check out this page: http://audacityteam.org/wiki/index.php? ... s_Vista_OS

If still no joy, try upgrading to Audacity 1.3.5
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 33949
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by mschuie » Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:12 pm

yeah, i already checked that page out. no help. Ill try the upgrade...
mschuie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:40 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by mschuie » Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:50 pm

no dice, reloading, and or getting the other version didnt do anything. I still have no input devices. any other ideas?
mschuie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:40 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:31 pm

In Audacity 1.3.5 look in "Help > Audio Device Info"
Copy and paste what you find there into your reply.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 33949
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by mschuie » Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:30 pm

"A problem caused the program to stop working correctly, Windows will close the program and notify you if there is a solution."

it just shuts the program down when i look at the help>audio device.

man this is annoying.
mschuie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:40 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sat Sep 13, 2008 3:54 pm

Make sure that you have ALL other programs closed (including your browser) and try opening Audacity 1.3.5 and looking in "Help > Audio Device Info"
Does Audacity still close down?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 33949
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by mschuie » Sun Sep 14, 2008 8:01 pm

yeah, it still shuts down.
mschuie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:40 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Mon Sep 15, 2008 12:38 am

It's known that 1.3.5 crashes on Vista if you click Audio Device info when there is no connected and enabled audio device. It's fixed in our development builds, as noted on our Known Issues page.

You can get a fixed development build here.

As you will have seen at:
http://audacityteam.org/wiki/index.php? ... s_Vista_OS

"Recording Device" in the Audio I/O Preferences is the only place in Audacity where you can choose the recording source. You need to go to the Vista control panel, connect the device you want to record with such as a microphone, and then select and enable it as described here.

If you've already done that (including showing Disabled and Disconnected devices) and there are still no recording devices in the Control Panel, (or if there are, but Audacity still does not see them) then you don't have a viable sound device. I would suggest:

* uninstalling the sound device via Device Manager
* reboot
* reinstalling the sound device from the drivers CD that came with the computer
* reboot
* go back to the Control Panel and connect, select and enable a working input device
* If Audacity cannot see it, then update the sound device drivers via Device Manager.
* If that makes no difference, or if no updates are available, go to the web site of the manufacturer of the sound device (or possibly that of the motherboard manufacturer if you are using motherboard sound rather than a PCI sound card).

Updating sound drivers is described here.

If you are still having problems after that, please tell us the name of the sound device you are trying to record with, and what you are trying to record. If you are only interested in recording computer playback, your sound device may not support this anyway, in which case you need other solutions.

Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 13386
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am

Re: NO INPUT DEVICES?

Permanent link to this post Posted by mschuie » Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:39 am

Im just trying to record whats coming from the computers speakers as of right now...
mschuie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:40 am

Next

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest