Cannot Use Effects

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

Cannot Use Effects

Permanent link to this post Posted by gsvgary » Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:52 pm

I am trying to use Effects to get rid of background noise. All the options under effects are grayed out. I have tried opening effects before selecting a file, after selecting a file, while the file is playing and when the file has stopped. No matter what I do the options are all grayed out. Can anyone tell me why I cannot acces the effects menyu? I have Audacity 1.2.6 Thank you.
gsvgary
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:40 pm

Re: Cannot Use Effects

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:59 pm

Make sure that Audacity is in "Stop" mode and not just "Paused". Effects are only available when stopped.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34304
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Cannot Use Effects

Permanent link to this post Posted by gsvgary » Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:16 pm

I have already saved the file and cannot use effects even when stopped.
gsvgary
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:40 pm

Re: Cannot Use Effects

Permanent link to this post Posted by gsvgary » Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:18 pm

I tried a new recording and hit stop but Effects is still grayed out.
gsvgary
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:40 pm

Re: Cannot Use Effects

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:27 pm

Do you mean all of the effects, or just some of the effects?
What operating system are you using? The old 1.2.6 version of Audacity is known to have problems on modern operating systems such as Vista and Windows 7.
Do you have some audio selected? (Ctrl+A should select all of the audio).
Has it ever worked on this computer or has the problem been the same since you first installed Audacity?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34304
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Cannot Use Effects

Permanent link to this post Posted by gsvgary » Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:30 pm

Steve,

I think I figured it out with your help. I will try and let you know. Thank you very much.
gsvgary
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:40 pm

Re: Cannot Use Effects

Permanent link to this post Posted by gsvgary » Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:51 pm

Hi I found it but it idstorts the voice on the recording. I see the Remove Noise Slider bar but not the sensitivity bar. How do I find it??
gsvgary
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:40 pm

Re: Cannot Use Effects

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:36 pm

The "Sensitivity" control is a new feature that is currently only available in the alpha version of Audacity.
The alpha version is not recommended for general use as it contains new features that have not been adequately tested for suitability in a release version.
If you are not already using it I would recommend upgrading to Audacity 1.3.12
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34304
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests