error while opening sound device?

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

error while opening sound device?

Permanent link to this post Posted by xxkatherine » Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:59 am

Hi,
I've been using Audacity for a few months now just to make a few homemade recordings, and I've never had a problem. But today when I opened a file to record it said "Error while opening sound device. Please check the output settings and project sample rate".
Can anyone help? I'm not sure what this means.
Thank you!
xxkatherine

Re: error while opening sound device?

Permanent link to this post Posted by hypnomom » Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:16 am

I also have this same problem. I am too much of a novice to figure this one out .HELP PLEASE! :roll:
hypnomom

Permanent link to this post Posted by alatham » Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:03 pm

That error message is pretty generic. It basically says that Audacity either doesn't know how or can't tell your sound card to start recording. There are any number of reasons for this to happen.

You could have one or more of the following problems:
1) Trying to use a sample rate that your sound card doesn't supply. Check the bottom left hand corner of Audacity's main screen. There's a drop-down menu there that should say something like "44100" or "48000" Hz. Those are the two most common sample rates that people use.
2) You could be trying to record more channels than your sound card provides. In the edit -> preferences -> audio i/o menu, make sure the number of channels is either 1 or 2 (for most users).
3) Your sound card might not support recording and playing at the same time. This seems unlikely, but can you record when no other sounds are playing?