Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

The final version of Audacity for Windows 98/ME is the legacy 2.0.0 version.

Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by 0ldfart » Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:17 am

Im using audacity in W7 x64 and am unable to select Stereo Mix as the source

Ive tried this with a couple of motherboards - (different audio chipsets) - but get the same result with each

http://i48.tinypic.com/chvz8.png
Screenshot

Does anyone know if there's a way to get this working?
0ldfart
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:14 am

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by 0ldfart » Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:25 am

* You must select recording inputs such as "microphone" or "stereo mix" in the "Devices" tab of Audacity Preferences.


Just tried 1.3.9 beta. I cant see "stereo mix' in the Devices tab of Preferences

http://tinypic.com/r/14ihgs3/6
0ldfart
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:14 am

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by waxcylinder » Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:33 am

Try this sticky thread for 1.2: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=16871

and for 1.3: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=16111

WC
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *Donate * * * * *
waxcylinder
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 7454
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by 0ldfart » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:05 pm

waxcylinder wrote:Try this sticky thread for 1.2: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=16871

and for 1.3: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=16111

WC



hi WC - thanks for your reply

Yes I had a look at the sticky. The quote above is from it. It says to select the input source, but I cant get the input source. Its not available (screenshot 2nd post)

Thats the issue. Sorry if I was unclear in the previous two posts.

Jim
0ldfart
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:14 am

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by waxcylinder » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:10 pm

Sorry I can't help further - I'm a windows user - but both my platforms are XP (when I bought a new laptop last year I insisted that Dell "downgrade" it from Vista to XP) - so I have no experience of W7 yet.

WC
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *Donate * * * * *
waxcylinder
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 7454
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:55 pm

I don't use Windows 7 either, but apparently it is based on Vista, so this will probably apply: http://wiki.audacityteam.org/index.php? ... ng_devices
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34850
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by 0ldfart » Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:18 pm

stevethefiddle wrote:I don't use Windows 7 either, but apparently it is based on Vista, so this will probably apply: http://wiki.audacityteam.org/index.php? ... ng_devices


Thanks, but perhaps you didnt read any of the posts below the first post...
0ldfart
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:14 am

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:39 pm

"Stereo Mix" and "What U Hear" are creations of the hardware, drivers, and OS. Unless all of those are holding hands and willing, there is no mix. There were a couple of PC laptop makers that intentionally left it out of their product. No Mac can do this without a lot of outside help, either.

Total Recorder is available on Vista and I wouldn't be shocked to find it available on 7 as well. That's what I use on my PCs.

http://www.highcriteria.com/

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 26300
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:52 am

0ldfart wrote:Thanks, but perhaps you didnt read any of the posts below the first post...


Strangely enough, I have my forum preferences set to show most recent at the top.

but yes I did read the other posts - and I assume that you read the page that I posted the link to.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 34850
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am

Re: Stereo Mix as source in Windows 7?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Edgar » Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:36 pm

0ldfart wrote:Im using audacity in W7 x64 and am unable to select Stereo Mix as the source


There has been extensive renovation of this code in the last few days. Before these changes my Windows 7 64-bit system did not display "Stereo Mix" as an option; now it does. I have a very "unusual" sound system so your mileage may vary, but, I would suggest you try again with the current nightly build located here:
http://wiki.audacityteam.org/index.php?title=Nightly_Builds#Windows_Binaries
grabbed the Unicode Release from the Windows binaries section.

A word of warning though, even though I may select Stereo Mix I have not been able to actually record from it. I will admit though that I have not done a lot of experimenting.
-Edgar
compiling Audacity daily
64-bit Windows 7
Edgar
 
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:13 pm

Next

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests