No sound on Audacity 1.2.6

This section is now closed.

Audacity 1.2.x is now obsolete. Please use the current Audacity 2.0.x version.

No sound on Audacity 1.2.6

Permanent link to this post Posted by supapinocchio » Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:52 pm

I am fairly new to Audacity, although I have had it installed on my computer, which is running Windows XP home, for some time. In the past it has worked perfectly, with no problems. Not having used it for some time, I recently opened it up but discovered that there was no sound playing through my speakers, which, in other respects work perfectly well with other programs. Audacity seems to be operating as it should ecxept for there being no sound. I uninstalled my original Audacity and re-installed 1.2.6 thinking that this would cure the problem. It didn't provide a cure, as I still get nothing through the speakers. I have an on-board sound card, for which there are no up-to-date drivers on the compaq website. I also have Lame installed, since I installed the original Audacity software. I would appreciate any suggestions which may help restore the sound through Audacity.
supapinocchio

Re: No sound on Audacity 1.2.6

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:04 pm

Check that the correct audio device is set in "Edit->Preferences->Audio I/O"
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff

Permanent link to this post Posted by supapinocchio » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:52 pm

stevethefiddle wrote:Check that the correct audio device is set in "Edit->Preferences->Audio I/O"

Hi steve,
thanks for your suggestion. I have changed the setting of the audio device to Audio I/O, with no luck. I am thinking that my sound card is dodgy, because I have now lost sound on both Windows Media Player and iTunes. I shall have to operate I think. Thanks again.
supapinocchio

Permanent link to this post Posted by supapinocchio » Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:43 pm

Hi again steve,